Review: Who Knew-Lessons from my First 40 Years

416Wj2Ni3BL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_

Who Knew is one of those books that intrigued me at concept and kept all its promises. Christine Andola has strong and tight writing and I found it engaging as she mixes anecdotal (and mostly personal) stories in an engaging way to transmit life wisdom. As I read I had a vision of Barney and Ted from How I Met Your Mother… at one point they reach a level of drunkenness where they get super wise but are still very funny—that was my perception. Deep wisdom with humor.

I don’ know how old the author is (at least in her forties), but I can corroborate many of her experiences and takeaways as she communicates these great truths, (like “Not everybody wants to be your friend” and “bonding and bondage sound similar for good reasons.”)

Late in the book she mentions a bit of disdain for self-help style books. This book isn’t one of those. It’s more like a “how not to suck at life” advice manual from someone who ‘s already been there and done that.” It was also an easy read and kind of perfect to leave in a bag and read segments on a commute, etc. I’d recommend this one, even though I’m not a big reader of nonfiction for entertainment purposes.  (I did receive a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review).

Click here to check out the book on Amazon.

Leave a Reply

