Review: Eye of an Outlaw–Nefairyous #2

31703333.jpg

Most of what I observed in the first installment of the Nefairyous Saga remains true of the second. OF course, this time around I went into the book with a mindset to embrace the 2nd person POV and look at it like I was in a mystery or a video game (thinking the old Myst series where the goal was to try and figure out the mystery through experience.) Some of the writing does flirt more with the third person POV in aspects (sometimes it seems like there is no limit to the knowledge we get as the reader. If I’d change anything in the series it’d be that–but it does help keep these stories as relatively short and perfect for the casual reader–kind of like choose your own adventure books.)

Detective Lincoln (from the first book) is absent. I was fine with that. I really did think the author did a better job of worldbuilding and keeping the immediacy of the books events, well, immediate. There is some backstory, for sure, but less so than we saw with the Wishbone killer in book 1 and it helps keep the reader in the element, so the writing style certainly improves between the books. The setting is also improved–partly just in language and names which have a distinct foreignness to them (in the first book I struggled to stay in the setting as some things seemed too familiar at times.)

I am glad to see multiple installments of something labled as a “saga” or series. Those of you who follow my reviews on my blog or via my author/reviewer profiles know that I’m irked whenever I see a novel proudly listed as “Book 1 in the exciting new series you never heard of and which will never see a second installment!” Make sure that you visit the Author’s homepage and send him some love and beg for a new story if this sort of 2nd person POV immersive storytelling is your cup of tea.

Leave a Reply

