Review of: The Eye of Nefertiti, A Pharaoh’s Cat Novel

eye

The Eye of Nefertiti, A Pharaoh’s Cat Novel is not my usual style of book. I received a paperback copy in exchange for an honest review. Every now and then we often say, “what the heck” and give something different a try… like the time my wife and I went to a sushi bar with friends. Turns out I’m veeeeerrryyy particular on my sushi. This book was a better choice than the Spicy Unagi Roll.

We’ll start with the positive. It’s different, at least for me, and is a low-investment book. It wasn’t a riveting book that plays with emotions and kept me awake at night; it felt more like a cozy mystery. Truthfully, though, it was interesting and constantly threw out little nuggets about the larger story (it didn’t seem like a sequel either and really was a stand-alone) with magic time-traveling boats by page two. Page one mentions the Pharaoh’s vizier, even. I mention him to demonstrate a comfortable plot (not exactly “predictable,” but comfy… cozy;) the vizier kills the pharaoh on page two. The book continually reminded me of stories I checked out of my local library as a teenager. I read a lot more variety in fiction as a teenager and something in the pacing and style reminded me of so many of them. Wrappa-Hamen (the cat,) is likable enough and is bit of a wise-cracker which helps keep the mood light (it might otherwise be a pseudo-Shakespearean tragedy at many points.) The writing was tight and it appeared well edited so the little “format things” didn’t make it difficult to stay engage.

So here are only gripes with the book, for what they’re worth: I really don’t like the cover. It seems unrelated, but I’ve blogged a bunch about the importance of covers for a while over at Inside the Inkwell.  It’s from a first person POV… while I didn’t mind it once I started the book, I opened the cover after committing to read it and groaned—I might not have agreed to read/review had I known (also, see blog for more.) I will also admit, though, that it worked for her book and was maybe helpful from a fundamental standpoint since her protagonist is not a human. The “cozy mystery” style is not my thing—and that’s just another personal preference—but I can still recognize good writing and quality when I see it. I know some people who really love it and while reading kept thinking I know so many people who would love this. One of them is my daughter. If I think she would like it, it gets a thumbs up… er, paws up?

You can get the book at Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Eye-Nefertiti-Maria-Luisa-Lang/dp/0996335218

Leave a Reply

