Book Review: We Journey No More

516GbL4pDoL._SX311_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

I got a copy of We Journey No More by Sahara Foley. I read some of the other reviews and it’s been a while since I read anything targeting the YA age group (which pretty typically features protagonists 17-19 years old with a reader base a year or two on either side.) I heeded the warnings about the regular sexual content and kept the earbuds in while listening on Audible.

At first, I wondered about what seemed like plot holes, like the young ages of the characters. I kept thinking, “A sixteen year old can’t move across the country with her boyfriend!” Don’t worry… those things are addressed by the end of the book.

I was glad for the headphones. My second thought was, “Dang! don’t these kids do anything other than have sex?” It did seem over the top… but then I remembered being seventeen and thought, wellllllll, maybe this is pretty accurate after all–I mean, if I was in this kids shoes, then I suppose this might be more true to life than I’d care to admit.

The only thing that I really do think Foley missed is in the end battle (which I really did enjoy, this point aside). She wrote about a couple kills made by very specific weapons. I’ve probably been here, too, and made similar gaffs, but the main characters kill some enemies with a .22 and a shotgun at over 100 feet. If you’re a gun enthusiast you see the problem with this statement (a .22 is not likely to be lethal accept at point blank range while firing into vitals, and a shotgun blast is about as effective as an angry sunburn.) They also had to manually remove the .22 casings as if it were a revolver–I actually own the .22 rifle the characters used (it was my grandfather’s) and a similar shotgun. Buuuuuuut… for a regular person who is not a gun enthusiast, not a big deal and the pacing of the story would completely overlook a technical error.

Over all, it was a good story with many interesting moments and it has a nice Mad Max feel to it while they are in the future. While I didn’t really care so much for the horny teenagers (probably because I work with teenagers and I’m beyond that target audience) I did really connect with the Ganu tribe and their leaders as they struggled against those who meant to displace their people. Heck, I’d love to read a whole new sequel just to spend more time among them as they try to defend their home from the evils of the wasteland.

I’d read more from Sahara Foley in the future and recommend checking this book out here: http://www.amazon.com/We-Journey-No-More-Adventure-ebook/dp/B013H4FC8A

Leave a Reply

